Back to the Basics: Makeup Organization

These days, in a makeup-crazed world, we tend to buy everything anyone recommends, anything that will claim to make you look like a celebrity, or almost anything we lay our eyes on because we are always looking for the next best thing. I admit I am guilty of this, especially when it comes to makeup/skincare, but I decided it was time to streamline and evaluate what I already had before I purchased anything else.  While strolling through Michael’s today looking for some art supplies, I noticed a spinning organizer for crafts.  Immediately, I thought it would be perfect for organizing my everyday makeup brushes and everyday essentials. Not only would I be able to gain access to my most used products with ease, I would be able to see what I actually use the most and get back to the basics.

The organizer has four big compartments and six mini compartments. Don’t worry if you don’t have this specific organizer, you can use whatever you have so long as you are just putting your basic makeup items in an easy to access location. To begin, I placed my face brushes in the first big compartment and eye brushes in the second big compartment. If you don’t have room for all your face/eye brushes to go in their specified compartments, select the brushes that you ACTUALLY use on a daily basis. Remember, we are trying to get back to the basics.  Next, I placed my basic face makeup (primer, foundation, brow pencil etc.) in the third big compartment. I finally placed my basic eye makeup (eyeliner, eyelash curler, mascara, etc) in the fourth big compartment. In the six outer compartments, I used one to store my hair bands and clips, another to store my most used lip glosses, another for any perfume samples I have and another for all my lip liners.  I don’t have a use for the last compartment…yet. Anything you can’t fit in the organizer can be placed in your regular makeup bag or another location.

Remember, organize in whatever way works for you. This is the method that makes most sense and works for me.  Hopefully this helps you get your everyday essentials organized and ready to use with ease. Good luck and happy organizing!

Leave a Reply

