Back to the Basics: Face and Eye Brushes

In my previous post, I wrote about “getting back to the basics”, but some may ask: “What are the basics?” Below, I will explain the traditional basic face and eye brushes I personally suggest that people should have in their collection. Makeup brushes can be very pricey so I have also noted down brushes that have multiple uses. Be creative and see how you can use your brushes for multiple purposes.  I have also mentioned brushes I enjoy using in each category. Keep in mind I am fully aware that there are plenty of other brushes that can be used for your face and eyes, I am just emphasizing the basics. Hope this helps!

Face Brushes:

Foundation Brush:  A good foundation brush will help ensure your skin looks flawless and give you a good base to work with.

Brushes I enjoy :

Sephora 55 brush

MAC 189

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

BareMinerals Precision Face Brush

Your (clean) fingers ( not a brush, but certainly a great tool)

Powder Brush: A good powder brush will ensure an even application of powder without looking too cakey. A good powder brush can add the finishing touch to make you look polished.  A powder brush can sometimes be doubled up as a blush brush or contour brush depending on the size and density.

Brushes I enjoy:

Sephora  Pro Airbrush 55 Brush

Mac 131

Blush Brush: A good blush brush will distribute the right amount of blush and blend your product out well. A blush brush can sometimes be used to contour and highlight depending on the size and density.

Brushes I enjoy:

Mac 131  Brush

Mac 165 Brush

Nars Yachiyo Brush

Eye Brushes:

All over lid brush: A good all over lid brush lays down your lid color evenly.

Brushes I enjoy:

MAC 227

MAC 217

MAC 239

Crease Brush: A good crease brush places color in your crease and blends it out well creating depth in your eye look.

Brushes I enjoy:

MAC 217

MAC 224

Liner Brush- A good liner brush applies  your eyeliner according to the thickness and shape you desire. Want to know something neat? If you don’t want to invest in an expensive eyeliner brush, you can always head to the craft store and go to the paint brush section and grab a very fine/angled liner brush. You can always invest in a better one later! See previous post!

Brushes I enjoy:

Real Techniques Eyeliner Brush

MAC 208

Leave a comment